Things Change (for a love before)

I used to love him
woolly hair and all adored the way he balled…
up his aggressions and tossed them like garbage.

I used to love his
face dark like cocoa
reminiscent of nights in Acapulco
tropical like mango fruit with just enough juice.

I used to kiss him
from the head down to his toes
lick away his insecurities
and think there was a place secured for me
along his side in paradise.

I used to kiss his
talented temples and ease the pain
thought I had all to gain,
but I lost the struggle between he and myself.

I used to snuggle in
pleasant memories and snapshots
of he and I
along a moonlit sky

…but now I don’t.

Leave a Reply

